

QRCA Announces 2021 Award Winners

St. Paul, Minn. (January 2021) – The QRCA is proud to announce the recipients of the 2021 QRCA Awards. These will be presented at the virtual <u>Awards Gala</u> on January 22 at 12 p.m. ET. The awards are split into five categories that reflect significant contributions to the qualitative research profession. Dating back to 2002, the awards have recognized contributions and leadership development for qualitative professionals from across the world.

"Our 2021 awards recipients have inspired us with their selfless dedication to sharing their knowledge and expertise of qualitative methods and practices worldwide," said Caroline Volpe, president of QRCA. "As the global community of qualitative professionals that connects, educates and advances qualitative research, QRCA is proud to work with and support individuals who are so committed to their profession."

The 2021 award winners are:

Impact Award Winners – Jennifer Dale and Jeff Walkowski

The Impact Award, first given in 2019, is given to a QRCA member or members for exemplary service to QRCA within the past year. Jennifer Dale and Jeff Walkowski, current QRCA committee leaders, Advance Members and online research experts, were selected by the board for their work on developing and implementing the online research training series that was launched in the spring to assist the field in pivoting to online qualitative research during the global pandemic. This series was also the foundation for QRCA's Online Research certificate program that was launched in the fall.

Maryanne Pflug Award – Marc Engel

The Maryanne Pflug Spirit Award is given to a QRCA member who demonstrates "spirit" in the association and upholds and celebrates QRCA's cultural heritage of collegiality among members. Marc Engel is the current co-chair of California's San Francisco Chapter and an active member on both the Annual Conference and Inclusive Culture Committees. He was selected by a committee of former Spirit Award recipients as this year's winner.

President's Award – Chris Kann

The President's Award honors the recipient for exemplary service and dedication to QRCA. Chris Kann, a 23-year active member of QRCA including roles as a board president, committee leader, chapter leader and conference co-chair, was selected by the board for her significant and ongoing service to QRCA. This most recently includes pivoting the spring 2020 international

conference to a virtual event, planning business development roundtables to help members in the time of Covid-19, and leading the Education Strategy Committee.

Rising Star Award – Brittney Hopgood

The Rising Star Award is given to provide recognition and incentive to QRCA members who have less tenure with the association, and yet have made significant contributions to QRCA. Brittney Hopgood is an active QRCA committee member and a 2019 QRCA Young Professionals Grant recipient. She also was a key member of the team that created and implemented the webinar series *Applied DE&I: Putting Sensitivity to Work*. Brittney was nominated by her peers and selected by the board for her contributions to QRCA.

For more information, visit the <u>QRCA Award</u> webpage.

###

<u>QRCA</u> is the global community for qualitative professionals that connects, educates and advances qualitative methods, practices and standards on behalf of and with its members. QRCA members are professionals who design, conduct, analyze or support the conduct and analysis of qualitative research. They include independent consultants, in-house researchers, agency researchers, project managers, support services, field resources, academics, students and retirees – all passionate about maximizing the impact of qualitative research